«

»

Jun 12 2016

Review: Scott Sports Voodoo NTN

 

NTN Voodoo from Scott Sports

NTN Voodoo from Scott Sports

It would be a shame if sales of Scott’s Voodoo don’t pick up. Now that they have added Dynafit tech inserts these boots are a valid boot choice for the direction telemark innovation is headed. However their performance beyond that remains unchanged from the Prophet by Garmont. Thus, I’m not predicting any sales records.

Depending on whether you ever skied them, and if you haven’t, whether or not they fit your foot, you may or may not like ‘em. For Prophet fans, you can keep the flex you like while preparing for the future with tech inserts.

Downhill Flex

In the ski performance realm Scott’s Voodoo retain’s the Prophets primary flaws. Piss poor range of motion for touring, and a bellows that flexes like a coffee filter. That’s an exaggeration, but it is nonetheless undeniably soft.

The medial tongue extends up from the lower shell to transfer more power from your legs to your skis.

The medial tongue extends up from the lower shell to transfer more power from your legs to your skis.

The soft bellows wouldn’t be as much of a problem if the sole of the Voodoo flexed evenly throughout its length. In theory a soft bellows can be compensated for with the binding, or perhaps more accurately, allows you to adjust the flex of your tele system via judicious binding selection and adjustments. Recent innovations have affirmed this to be true, but not if the sole doesn’t flex evenly. This is less apparent with an Outlaw or Freeride binding, but in Voodoo’s case, undeniable with TTS.

Depending on what size boot you get, you may find the bellows position relative to the duckbutt a bit too forward which will put you on your toes because the sole doesn’t bend much behind the bellows, only in front. This was certainly my experience with a 26.5-27 and a 27.5-28 shell. Based on an earlier analysis of this phenomenon, my guess is the 25.5-26.0 shell probably skis much better, as would a 28.5-29 or 29.5-30 shell. YMMV.

Bindings like the Outlaw will improve Voodoo’s performance and if you’re lucky enough to have the right sized foot you may find Voodoo to be a good ally for putting a spell on the snowsnakes that used to trip you up.

Touring ROM

Acceptable touring Range of Motion as long as you don't go far.

Acceptable touring Range of Motion as long as you don’t go far.

Unless you are a pure slope dopin’ telemarker, you’ll be underwhelmed with the cuff mobility when you free the toe and start skinning. Two things are against you. First, the cuff doesn’t have much range of motion all by its lonesome. Once you add a liner that is reduced. That’s not all. The lower shell has a tongue that extends up on the medial side. This absolutely improves downhill performance by coupling leg power directly to the foot and thus your skis. But in the balance between uphill and downhill performance, the extended tongue adds further resistance to rearward flexibility for touring.

If you’re a sidecountry freeheeler and spend the majority of your time riding lifts this not a deal breaker. For earnyourturners, it is. Although still not record breaking, Voodoo’s ROM is improved over Prophet’s.

The Fit

Liner is heat moldable, has a rubberized sole for grip, eyelets for laces, and a flex zone in back for better touring.

Liner is heat moldable, has a rubberized sole for grip, eyelets for laces, and a flex zone in back for better touring.

Whether or not the above matters depends on whether the Voodoo even fits your foot. It has a last that is narrow in the forefoot with a high instep. Please note, your arch is not your instep. Same region, but the arch is underneath, the instep the top of your foot above the arch. If you have a low instep, don’t even think about these. If you have an average instep, expect to fill some space with extra padding and/or raising the footbed. The rest can rejoice that Voodoo doesn’t crush the top of their foot like every other boot.

To help with minor disparities between Voodoo’s last and your foot, the liner is heat moldable, using an Ultralon foam that maintains uniform density in compressed areas. It also has a rubberized sole and eyelets for laces when hanging out inside a hut.

Oddities

You may want to carve away some excess plastic above the toe inserts.

Modifications advised. YMMV.

In the pair of boots I tested there was excess injected plastic above the toe insert. If you’re using these with a 2-pin tech toe, this excess plastic could make the pins prone to prerelease by not allowing them to close completely. It’s easy enough to whittle the excess plastic away, but you should inspect to confirm whether it needs it with whatever tech toe you’re using.

Bottom Line

With this boot, more than anything the fit is it. If the shoe fits, wear it. If you don’t stray far from the lifts, or go on long backcountry tours, Voodoo could renew infuse your smile. This is particularly true if you were/are a fan of the Prophet; your boot is back with a worthy upgrade.

Scott Sports
Voodoo NTN
MSRP: $850
Weight/pr (sz 27):
Sizes available (mondo): 24 – 31

Related Posts
Is NTN’s Butt too Big
Review: Garmont’s NTN Prophet

© 2016
 

  • Demian Schane

    Thanks for the review. Q: so what does a soft bellows and uneven flexing sole translate to while skiing? Toe crunch? To me, Scarpa’s Tx boots also have soft bellows — are these even softer or you just notice it more because of the different soles?

  • Dostie

    With the sizes mentioned (26.5-27 & 27.5-28) the result is a tippy-toe sensation where you can get a fair amount of pressure, but off your toes, not from the metatarsals (ball of foot).

  • jnicol

    It’s great to see another option for those of us skiing with tech toes! Too bad they didn’t modify and improve the boot further, but there are those that loved the Prophet. Hopefully Scott will tap into their proven innovation skills and provide a second boot that solves the issues and can be the sales record breaker.

  • Sam

    At least they look the part… really like Scott’s graphics.

  • FD

    Its hard to imagine that this horrible boot design persists. I guess garmont somehow convinced scott they were buying a winner in this boot design. Nothing could be further from the truth. These boots “suck” by comparison to any model of scarpa tele boots. I’m sure Scott will be upset by Dostie’s review, but in my mind he was actually generous in his occasional praise of this horrible boot.

    (I bougth my pair used from someone who tried them and hated them. I hated them and sold them. The person I sold them to hated them and he also sold them. That says it all…)

  • http://www.nstelemark.com Larry White

    Hey Dostie, when did Scott change the shell size breaks on the Voodoo/Prophet? They always changed on the half size previously (ie 26-26.5, 27-27.5, 28-28.5, etc which was why the 26 was still a large in the Prophet and the 25.5 was the first small binding boot.

  • skier6

    Demian,
    These are softer bellows than the Scarpa TX or TX Pro. Mind you I am talking about the NTN Prophet ski boot.
    When I first went to ski with the prophet, I thought the bellows was defective, it was so soft. I looked down to see if it was torn..
    Later I did get toe crunch on steep terrain too.
    But for resort skiing, I still like the Prophet for the great edge control, with a performance fit. With a little more toe room (I ground out the inside of one boot for more toe room) I could like this boot more.